2016 Men's Rugby Sevens Players' Player finalists announced

By Pete Fairbairn, 30.11.16

RUPA are pleased to announce the five finalists for the 2016 Australian Men’s Rugby Sevens Players’ Player of the Year, with the winner to be announced at the Volvo-RUPA Awards Lunch on Wednesday December 7th.

The Award is voted on by all players who were in the Australian Men’s Rugby Sevens program for the 2015-2016 season, incorporating the 2015-2016 World Rugby Sevens series and the Olympic Games in Rio de Janiero. Players vote for the player they believe has displayed excellence in areas of performance, leadership, consistency and commitment both on and off the field.

Previous winners of the Award are Cameron Clark (2014 & 2015), Con Foley (2013) and Jesse Parahi (2012).

2016 Australian Men’s Rugby Sevens Players’ Player of the Year:

Allan Fa’alava’au

Former Australian Schoolboys representative Allan Fa’alava’au had a big season, playing in 9 of the 10 World Series tournaments and earning selection in the Tournament Dream Team in Las Vegas, as well as winning the Players’ Player tournament award in Wellington. Allan scored 11 tries, passing 250 career points, and also represented his country at theOlympic Games.

Con Foley

Con Foley’s fifth season on the World Rugby Sevens circuit saw him play in 8 of the 10 tournaments, scoring eight tries in the process and being chosen by his peers as the Players’ Player in Singapore and scoring a whopping 5 tries in Vancouver. Foley scored 2 tries at the Olympic Games, after previously representing his country at the Commonwealth Games in 2014

Ed Jenkins

Ed Jenkins, a RUPA Board Director, was the Australian Men’s Rugby Sevens Captain for the 2015-2016 season. He saw his workload managed as he played just 5 World Series events ahead of leading his country at the Olympic Games. Regardless, he continued to have a major impact when he did feature, scoring a season total of 15 tries to take his career points tally to 522 as he enters his sixth season on the circuit.

Lewis Holland

2016 saw Lewis Holland play in 5 world series events and at the Rio Olympics, with an injury-interrupted season not limiting his output when he was available. Selected in the Tournament Dream Team in Sydney, Holland also won the Players’ Player Award there, in Dubai and in Vancouver. Holland twice scored 5 tries in a tournament, ending with a season tally of 82 points.

James Stannard

Stannard, the veteran of the Men’s Rugby Sevens squad, continued to showcase his ability to get better with age as he played 8 tournaments and the Olympic Games, winning the Players’ Player award in Cape Town. Stannard is Australia’s all-time leading point scorer with 794, including 208 in 2016 through 8 tries and 89 conversions.

The Men’s Rugby Sevens Players’ Player is one of eight major Awards presented at the Volvo-RUPA Awards Lunch; click here to see a summary of all Awards and finalists, and follow #RUPAAwards via social media from midday onwards on Wednesday December 7th.

Pete Fairbairn
Communications Manager
Https%3a%2f%2frupa.cdn.prismic.io%2frupa%2f18e716ddbab4019ef1945d78dbc2e6a15b1d3036 rupa footer 2018.jpg?ixlib=rails 1.1