Battle intensifies in Taylors Wines People's Choice Wallaby of the Year race

By Pete Fairbairn, 01.12.16

As many as six players remain realistic possibilities to win the Taylors Wines People’s Choice Wallaby of the Year, as voting draws towards its close at 8am (AEDT) on Monday morning.

Since voting opened on November 18th, entries have been received from all over Australia, with a suite of wonderful prizes helping attract respondents to a competition which takes just two minutes to enter, with the winner to be announced at the Volvo-RUPA Awards Lunch next Wednesday, December 7th.

Click here to enter the Taylors Wines People’s Choice Wallaby of the Year, and go in the draw to win!

Less than 100 votes split first from sixth at this point in time, with a couple of Wallaby rookies gaining significant support in their first season of Test Rugby and competing well alongside a raft of established Wallaby stars of recent years.

The players shortlisted are:

Adam Coleman (Western Force), Israel Folau (NSW Waratahs), Bernard Foley (NSW Waratahs), Dane Haylett-Petty (Wallabies), Reece Hodge (Melbourne Rebels), Michael Hooper (NSW Waratahs), Sekope Kepu (NSW Waratahs), Samu Kerevi (Queensland Reds), Sean McMahon (Melbourne Rebels), Stephen Moore (Brumbies), David Pocock (ACT Brumbies) and Scott Sio (ACT Brumbies).

There’s still time for you to get your vote in, with performances in the season’s final match against England counting towards the final tally, and in doing so you’ll go in the draw to win the major prize of two (2) tickets to the Australian Wallaby Test Match of your choice in 2017 AND a limited edition set of 1st XV Taylors Wines* (while four other entrants will win runners’ up prizes of two (2) tickets to a 2017 Wallaby Test Match AND a bottle of award-winning Taylors Wine selected from the Jaraman range).

All five Super Rugby teams are represented, however when submitting your entry you should only consider Wallaby performances, while there are seven forwards and five backs nominated; full bios of every nominated player are available on the voting page. To enter, click here!

*To celebrate their partnership with the Qantas Wallabies, Taylors Wines has created a limited edition set of 15 bottles of wine, known as the First XVI (Fifteen). Each bottle is individually hand-signed by the starting fifteen players of the first Bledisloe Cup Test, held in Sydney on the 20th of August 2016. The wine itself is also a partnership; between the rich elegance of Clare Valley Shiraz and the pepper and spice of McLaren Vale Shiraz from the 2015 vintage. As there are only five Taylors Wines First XV sets produced, they are considered an extremely rare, money can’t buy collector’s item.

Taylors Wines are the exclusive wine partner of RUPA and the wine provider at the annual Volvo-RUPA Awards Lunch, as well as being a current partner of the Australian Rugby Union (ARU) and the official wine behind the Wallabies.

Taylors Wines is 100% family owned and operated. Its roots run deep in the Australian wine industry, with the family’s commitment to crafting fine wine spanning four decades and three generations. For Taylors, making great wine is all about family, defining their approach to winemaking and to their business.

Pete Fairbairn
Communications Manager rupa web  edm sponsors 2017.jpg?ixlib=rails 1.1