More than 50 make Super Rugby debut

By Pete Fairbairn, 24.07.17

In 2017, 53 players at Australian Clubs have made their Super Rugby debut.

It's a huge number, and reflects upon not only the high injury tolls which have affected many teams but also the growing number of opportunities provided for younger players across all five teams.

Sixteen players debuted in Round One, with debutants in every other week bar Round Two. Fourteen Rebels players, twelve Western Force and Reds players, eight Waratahs and sevens Brumbies players have debuted.

Of the 53 who have debuted, over 70% have previously played in the NRC competition, while many are also either former or current Australian U20s players. Five players have moved over to Super Rugby from the NRL competition, while two players who have represented Test teams outside Australia have made their first appearances in the competition.

RUPA extends congratulations to each and every one of the following players:

Brumbies: Tom Cusack, Wharenui Hawera, Ryan Lonergan, Andrew Muirhead, Dewet Roos, Faalelei Sione and Isaac Thompson

Force: Richie Arnold, Lewis Carmichael, Onehunga Havili, Billy Meakes, Isi Naisarani, Alex Newsome, Chance Peni, Curtis Rona, Michael Ruru, Mitch Short, James Verrity-Amm, Shambeckler Vui

Rebels: Dominic Day, Murray Douglas, Jackson Garden-Bachop, Harrison Goddard, Esei Haangana, Marika Koroibete, Tyrel Lomax, Jack Maddocks, Amanaki Mafi, Will Miller, Fereti Sa'aga, Hugh Sinclair, Semisi Tupou, Jordan Uelese

Reds: Reece Hewat, Philip Kite, Alex Mafi, Lachlan Maranta, Jayden Ngamanu, Izaia Perese, Izack Rodda, Kirwan Sanday, Moses Sorovi, Hamish Stewart, Caleb Timu and Markus Vanzati

Waratahs: Cameron Clark, Jake Gordon, Maclean Jones, David Lolohea, Mack Mason, Ryan McAuley, Irae Simone, Senio Toleafoa

Pete Fairbairn
Communications Manager rupa footer 2018.jpg?ixlib=rails 1.1